RSS FeedRSS Feeds for Injury Treatment and Prevention

Premier Sponsor:

alon.albert

May 22, 2014, 2:57 PM
Post #1 of 2 (3787 views)
Shortcut

Forearm Injury
Report this Post
Average: avg_1 avg_2 avg_3 avg_4 avg_5 (0 ratings)  
Can't Post

I'll start by stating:

"I understand this is not the place to get qualified medical advice".

I'm very new to climbing, started about a month ago. I've been climbing at a gym about 3 times a week, anything between 30m to 2.5h a session.

I boulder v0-v2 and TR 5.9-10b.

About a week ago,while bouldering, I felt a pain in my left forearm. It didn't go away after a short rest so I decided to call a day. The pain is in the front of the forearm, about 2-3 inches below the elbow.

The pain lasted for several hours after the session but it was pretty clear to me that I needed to rest it.
Not wanting completely halt climbing, I figured I would rest a few days and work on stamina by focusing on TR'ing easier routes like 5.7 or 5.8, maybe do laps etc.

So, 3 days later I go to the gym, arm feels good so I decided to try a 5.9 first, see how it goes. Arm felt good so I decided to ignore my decision from earlier and just climb my usual TR level.
2.5h session went great, no pain, no discomfort, just the usual pumped feeling. I was pretty happy.

2 days later, I'm back at the gym, completely forgot about my injury and started bouldering V2 & V3's. Sure enough, after a few attempts, my arm hurts again so I quit. The pain lasted a few hours again, next morning, it's completely gone.

So, that's the story, here's my questions:

Does this injury have a name?
How long does it take to heal?
What climbing activity I can do without aggravating it? Does lapping at well under my level sound like a reasonable idea? Perhaps focus on footwork on easy slabs? Or should I take a break for a few weeks?

lena_chita

May 22, 2014, 6:05 PM
Post #2 of 2 (3761 views)
Shortcut

Re: [alon.albert] Forearm Injury [In reply to]
Report this Post