Forums: Rockclimbing.com: Suggestions & Feedback:
Need suggestions for automated ways to deal with spam??
RSS FeedRSS Feeds for Suggestions & Feedback

Premier Sponsor:

Partner Jeff
Owner

Oct 31, 2013, 11:44 AM
Post #1 of 6 (7574 views)
Shortcut

Need suggestions for automated ways to deal with spam??
Report this Post
Average: avg_1 avg_2 avg_3 avg_4 avg_5 (0 ratings)  
Can't Post

New site owner here (read details here: http://www.rockclimbing.com/...post=2637990#2637990)

Spam sucks.

I want to implement some better anti-spam measures into the software. I know it's somewhat whack-a-mole, but I'm also sure we can make this site harder to spam than it is now.

However, my wife and I have zero experience designing anti-spam features, so before I go read up on it, any suggestions??

This feels like a problem that's been tackled before, so if you know of things that have been successful in other forums let me know.

(This post was edited by Jeff on Oct 31, 2013, 11:56 AM)

iknowfear

Nov 2, 2013, 3:13 PM
Post #2 of 6 (7522 views)
Shortcut

Re: [Jeff] Need suggestions for automated ways to deal with spam?? [In reply to]
Report this Post
Can't Post

Hi Jeff,

first of all, welcome to our new overlords and all the best!

Non software fixes: find some mods in non US timezones: euros and asians/australians, to fight spam manually during sleepytime in the states.

Software fixes:
- Posting limit for new users of 2 posts a day until cleared (see below)
- New posts by new users need to be screened by level 2 mods (this could be anyone with over 800 or whatever number[ posts).
- No hyperlinks in posts before clearance.

Cheers & all the best
iknowfear

(This post was edited by iknowfear on Nov 2, 2013, 3:14 PM)

JimC

Nov 4, 2013, 4:58 PM
Post #3 of 6 (7486 views)
Shortcut

Re: [Jeff] Need suggestions for automated ways to deal with spam?? [In reply to]
Report this Post
Can't Post

Unfortunately. this is a really hard one. Here are the "best" methods around these days: