Skip to Content

Rock Climbing : News : Competitions and Results : Results of the World Youth Championship 2011

Results of the World Youth Championship 2011

Submitted by admin on 2011-09-02

Rating: 12345   Go Login to rate this article.   Votes: 0 | Comments: 0 | Views: 5143

Record participation in Imst for the World Youth Championship 2011, held under the high patronage of the President of the Austrian Republic. More than 650 athletes competed in the three age categories in Lead and Speed; new promises of the sport emerged, known talents confirmed their determination to break through.

It’s definitely the case of the Juniors’ Female Lead competition, where the French Julia Serriere won gold, ahead of Johanna Ernst (AUT) and Sasha Digiulian, the brilliant American that ranked 8th in Arco.

Similarly, in female A category of Lead we again find names that shone in Arco: the Austrian Magdalena Rock obtained in Imst the title of Youth World Champion, a result she was looking for already at the World Championship in Arco, where she finished third. The Japanese Momoka Oda won silver, while Katharina Posch (AUT) – 5th in Arco – was awarded the bronze. As for Female Youth B, it’s again Austria on the highest step, with Jessica Pilz. Silver went to Ievgeniia Kazbekova (UKR) and bronze to Salomé Romain, from France.

The fastest in the Junior’s female speed field was Anna Tsyganova, from Russia, followed by Stefanie Pichler (AUT) and by Margot Heiz (FRA).

The gold medal in A category was awarded to the Polish Aleksandra Rudzinska, with Esther Bruckner (FRA) in second place and Anouk Jaubert to close the podium.

Polina Shelpakova (RUS) won the title of Youth World Championship in B category, while Alexandra Elmer (AUT) won silver, and Anastasiia Klochkova (RUS) bronze.

In the male field, Jure Raztren from Slovenia is the new Junior World Champion, ahead of the British Edward Hamer and of the Italian Stefano Ghisolfi.

Slovenia is again gold medal in the A category, with Domen Skofic; silver went to Dmitry Fakiryanov (RUS) and bronze to Loic Timmermans (BEL).

The Austrain Bernhard Rock won the title in category B, with two Japanese in second and third place, Naoki Simatani and Keiichiro Korenaga.

Russia, Ukraine and Poland dominated in Youth Speed competitions: Ukraine and Poland shared the Juniors’ podium, with the Ukrainian Danylo Boldyrev on the highest step, the Polish Marcin Dzienski in second position and another Ukraine, Sergiy Barkovskyy, in third position. Category A was monopolized by the young Russian athletes: Payl Konstantin won gold, ahead of Artem Savelyev and Nikita Suyushkin.

The Italian Alessandro Santoni managed to break the Russian domination in Youth B, with a third place that gives some variety to the podium. Gold went to Ruslan Faizullin and silver to George Artamov.

Congratulations to the new Youth Champions!


Twitter  Facebook  StumbleUpon  Delicious  Digg  Reddit  Technorati

Add a Comment