Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Steck-Salathe - 5.10b popular Average Rating = 4.62/5 Average Rating : 4.62/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: snoopy138 on 2014-05-03 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars not actually fun

took a beatdown

Added: 2014-05-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: retro67 on 2011-06-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 24 years later

Did this route back in '87. It was as I remembered it...but cleaned up a bit, new bolts and easier to protect with modern gear. Still makes for a long day. All hail Allen and John! Couldn't really tell where it changed to 5.10b. All seemed like 4th class and strenuous 5.9. Still one of my all time favorites. Did it with JP in 12 hours car to car. About 8 on the route.

Added: 2011-06-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: scottydo on 2010-09-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Incredible

All told this was the hardest climb I think I've ever done. With everything together (approach, climb, descent) it was one loooong day. My advice, bring plenty of water, go as light as possible, and bring headlamps. You won't be wanting to do chimneys for a while after this climb. Have fun

Added: 2010-10-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: namascar on 2010-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Warning: Not for the claustrophobic

Great clasic route, way softer than the horror tales describe. The narrows are the business section. They take time and some effort.

Added: 2010-08-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: radioface on 2010-07-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A classic

Lots of fun, and a testament to the old schoolers.

Added: 2010-07-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: A-Bowl on 2009-05-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Nice casual outing if you have a strong head

Locker thought provoking chimneying, squeezes and fist/hand cracks. The climbing is fun and not very hard... what was hard was trying to do all these squeezes with gear and keeping yourself protected. It is much better if you are cool with climbing with some consequences so just being a 5.9-5.10 climber won't necessarily prepare you for the head aspect of it. Just be a solid leader for this one... so you can protect less and climb more freely. other than that it will make you love the style. Definately classic.

Added: 2009-05-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: salamanizer on 2008-09-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Good climbing

We left the car in the lodge parking lot at 9:30 and bushwacked strait through the woods in a B line for the route. Found the actual trail about halfway up. That was nice. Didn't think the approach was dangerous or scary at all. Thought the route was really cool. Every pitch had something to offer. All of it was typical Yosemite 5.8/9 hands and fists. We linked the first three pitches into one with a 60m rope. Did the Wilson overhang in one, then linked the next three pitches into one. Simuled to the headwall. Linked pitches 9 and 10 with some simuling. Linked the crux pitch and the narrows into one bad ass pitch, then simuled to the top. Grand total, 7 pitches in 4 hours. The decent was a total pain in the ass. Way worse than East Ledges, Death Slabs or North Dome gully. Miles of loose talus and some serious bushwacking. Thought we were off trail, but we wern't. Got back to the car at 5:30, just in time for free food and beer at the Facelift closeing party.

Good cragging.

Added: 2008-09-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: bandidopeco on 2008-05-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Next day was mandatory rest day

Fell on both of the 5.10 pitches while following with the backpack, but led the Narrows cleanly (awesome!!!). Yeah, when I woke up the next day it felt like I just fought a gorilla.

Added: 2008-05-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b A0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: ycamus on 2004-05-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Hooo yeah!

One of the bests... Probably not for the biggest guys... All free but 2 5.8 pitches. Neither me or my partner could free those 5.8!!! Search me why ;) I thought I had climb squeeze and chimneys before but I was a rooky. I enjoyed it Sooooo Much! Enjoy guys!

Added: 2008-04-22

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jonnykwong on 2004-03-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars w/jw

w/jw

Added: 2008-03-05

> >|

Record your own Ascent