Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Retaliation - 5.9 Average Rating = 4.11/5 Average Rating : 4.11/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cuoccoppi on 2011-08-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Bees

My follower accidentally stuck his hand in a hornets nest that was in the crack. Made the climb slightly harder for him.

Added: 2011-08-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Fat_Fil on 2008-10-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars 5.9?

this was a hard route. maybe cuz we did it after The Book, or maybe cuz we're weak, either way it felt harder than .9?

Added: 2008-10-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: fluffystuff on 2008-09-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars nice line!

man... this line had me thinking. pretty hard for me. super fun! did bombardment leading up to it. together, it's a great way to get to the top.

Added: 2008-09-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: tjt on 2008-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars good

lead the 2nd and 3rd pitches. did it by accident thinking it was upper refuse. coincidentally my first 5.9 lead. isnt self delusion great?

Added: 2008-07-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: duncanlennon on 2008-06-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars pumpy layback

very aesthetic line; fun jams on the last pitch. nice variation between pitches. led first pitch, tjt on crux and finish.

Added: 2008-06-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jrathfon on 2008-04-19 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars sweet feature

2nd pitch alcove was running water. crappy aid later and it was over with. great moves though.

Added: 2008-04-28

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: zirollim on 2007-06-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars retaliation retaliated

I took several falls on good gear through the crux and almost gained the niche... ended up on a hanging belay with double ropes (very messy) and a partner who forced me to finish it. Rapped off the tree 30' left of the belay ledge (protect your 2nd!). I'll be back for this one with a single rope in tow.

Added: 2007-07-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lucander on 2007-05-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Retaliation

Excellent route, belayed in the alcove below the crux and thought that the moves above were stout for the presumed grade of pitch 3. Silly moment on a great, G rated and easy to protect route. Blue cam or 3 inch piece is nice to have for first pitch belay station.

Added: 2007-05-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cracklover on 2006-10-14 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Found the protection very strenous to place at times, due to the overhanging/laybacking nature of the climb.

Added: 2006-10-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: patrick_bagley on 2006-07-08 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

didn't do overhanging bit- stewart green guide says not to... looks great through. next time.

Added: 2006-07-08

> >|

Record your own Ascent