Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: The Book of Solemnity - 5.10a popular Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cjdrover on 2011-10-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Very technical

5.9 effort, 10b beta = 10a

Added: 2011-10-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: tks on 2011-10-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great climb

two of the best pitches at the grade on the cliff. very thin moves around the roof.

Added: 2011-10-24

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cuoccoppi on 2011-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars The Book

Second pitch threw me for a loop. Found the lower option to be better.

Added: 2011-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2011-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars first pitch only

led the first pitch. err... i think it was 5.7 a0, with how i stepped on the pins. i couldn't help myself. they were right there. and, the alternative was having good slab technique. maybe next time, i'll be brave enough...

Added: 2011-08-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jmeizis on 2010-09-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Best Climb on Cathedral

I haven't done a lot at Cathedral but this is the best climb I've done their. The crux of the first pitch felt hard because it was hot and greasy. I went high for the second pitch crux. i wouldn't recommend it. Not only did it feel insecure and balancy it also didn't have the best options for pro. At least if you fall going low you don't have a big pendulum fall.

Added: 2010-09-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: Gmburns2000 on 2010-09-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Very fun

I wish I had led P2, because that felt pretty straight forward. P1 was fun, too, but thin under the roof.

Added: 2010-09-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brianri on 2010-07-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Wrong FA info

You have the wrong FA information. The first ascent was Joe Cote and Steve Arsenault on Oct 30, 1971. Source: "Rock Climbs in the White Mountains of New Hampshire" by Ed Webster.

Added: 2010-07-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: blueeyedclimber on 2008-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic!

This a great 2-pitch climb.

Added: 2010-02-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jaablink on 2009-02-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars ***

a must do classic

Added: 2010-02-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: hikerdd on 2006-07-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sweet climb!!

Fun climbing up the corner, then face move out around corner to an amazing belay ledge!! Really fun climb with a interesting traverse on 2nd pitch. Saw a few great swings happening, glad I stuck it!!

Added: 2008-08-06

> >|

Record your own Ascent