Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Ancient Art - 5.8 popular Average Rating = 4.55/5 Average Rating : 4.55/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: Zerxyx on 2012-10-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars ancient art

ancient art

Added: 2013-03-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: 5starclimbs on 2012-09-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars With Joe Tehan

free climbed @ .10c ?

Added: 2012-09-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dindolino32 on 2011-05-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars best summit for the easy climb. 5.8 A1 or about .10b

we had a wind advisory that really made things interesting! we had to climb in short spurts between the gusts. did it all free and the second bolt section seemed harder than 10a unless I was missing some important beta. chimney wasn't chossy but I didn't climb deep in the chimney where it was worse. I only worked my way deeper to set a couple of pieces of pro, otherwise I stayed on the more solid rock. I highly recommend it!!!

Added: 2011-07-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: bkboyd on 2009-10-25 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars great summit

While the summit has amazing exposure, I found the rest of the route to be pretty chossy, especially the chimney pitch.

Added: 2009-10-27

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: twdirty on 2009-10-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2009-10-19

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sungam on 2009-04-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great top pitch.

The corkscrew pitch at the top and the "boardwalk" were simply awesome. Great exposure and fun climbing, but other then that last 30' the rest of the route was pretty crumby. With out a doubt worth it for that top section.

Added: 2009-10-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fotovult on 2009-09-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars sweet summit

and great route. The chimney pitch has most of the climbing, but the bolt ladders go free at 10d with some interesting stemming moves down low and a face move or two at the top.

Super classic for the desert and a must-do for Moab.

Added: 2009-09-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8 A0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: behavens on 2008-03-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Really fun route

We had high winds (probably about 30mph) up on the last two pitches, but it's all a head game.

Added: 2008-04-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: apfander on 2007-04-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars exposure, exposure, exposure

Amazing exposure, other than that it is not all that hard.

Not using the bolt ladder on the first pitch to aid makes it 5.10a

Added: 2007-08-23

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: c-dub on 2006-09-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars my nemesis

i had climbed this climb twice before, only to get rained off once and forced to back off another time. finally i got it though.

Added: 2007-05-16

> >|

Record your own Ascent