RSS FeedRSS Feeds for Gear Heads

Premier Sponsor:

Trojans1993

Oct 31, 2012, 4:59 AM
Post #1 of 6 (3915 views)
Shortcut

5.10 Climbing Shoe Stretch?
Report this Post
Average: avg_1 avg_2 avg_3 avg_4 avg_5 (0 ratings)  
Can't Post

Hello, I'm fairly new to climbing but having a heck of a time finding some shoes that are tight but not unbearable to wear. My first pair felt perfectly snug but stretched to too much after a couple uses so I got a different kind but the initial tight never would stretch and they were too tight to keep using.

What do you look for in a climbing shoe to determine if it is going to stretch a bit before using them. I just got some 5.10 Newtons that feel pretty darn snug but will feel great if they stretch a bit but I don't want to use them if they are not going to stretch. Thanks.

acorneau

Oct 31, 2012, 11:51 AM
Post #2 of 6 (3893 views)
Shortcut

Re: [Trojans1993] 5.10 Climbing Shoe Stretch? [In reply to]
Report this Post
Average: avg_1 avg_2 avg_3 avg_4 avg_5 (1 rating)  
Can't Post

Trojans1993 wrote:
Hello, I'm fairly new to climbing but having a heck of a time finding some shoes that are tight but not unbearable to wear. My first pair felt perfectly snug but stretched to too much after a couple uses so I got a different kind but the initial tight never would stretch and they were too tight to keep using.

What do you look for in a climbing shoe to determine if it is going to stretch a bit before using them. I just got some 5.10 Newtons that feel pretty darn snug but will feel great if they stretch a bit but I don't want to use them if they are not going to stretch. Thanks.

Shoes will always stretch to some degree. It may be just the slightest "break in" or they might stretch 2 sizes up (Mythos, anyone?).

Remember that lace-up shoes allow for post-stretch fine tuning of the fit more than a Velcro shoe.

rocknice2

Oct 31, 2012, 1:04 PM
Post #3 of 6 (3884 views)
Shortcut

Report this Post
Can't Post