Forums: Climbing Information: Gear Heads:
Backpack choices for light hiking trips?
RSS FeedRSS Feeds for Gear Heads

Premier Sponsor:

imindless90

Mar 26, 2013, 2:38 AM
Post #1 of 4 (3737 views)
Shortcut

Backpack choices for light hiking trips?
Report this Post
Average: avg_1 avg_2 avg_3 avg_4 avg_5 (0 ratings)  
Can't Post

I am not an expert climber/hiker but after using a cinch or draw string bag on my hike for hours, trying to limit the weight I have on my body and only carrying water, climbing shoes, gloves, knife, climbers tape and thats about it.

I am looking for a "trail" bag which holds limited things but is still water-resistant, extremely light, can carry probably less than 10 pounds, a water reservoir if possible (my camel back patch doesnt come out of my camelbak), a pocket for a water bottle would be nice too and also has support for your back (I try to avoid frameless if possible).

I have looked at a few cheapies but the might do the job. Maybe there is a quality bag around those prices that does what I need but I just don't know what all is out there.

Swiss Gear Ridgeliner backpack
Swiss Gear Long trail backpack
REI Lookout
REI Traverse 30 pack

Any other suggestions?

:)

Kartessa

Mar 26, 2013, 1:31 PM
Post #2 of 4 (3690 views)
Shortcut

Re: [imindless90] Backpack choices for light hiking trips? [In reply to]
Report this Post
Can't Post

imindless90 wrote:
I am not an expert climber/hiker but after using a cinch or draw string bag on my hike for hours, trying to limit the weight I have on my body and only carrying water, climbing shoes, gloves, knife, climbers tape and thats about it.

I am looking for a "trail" bag which holds limited things but is still water-resistant, extremely light, can carry probably less than 10 pounds, a water reservoir if possible (my camel back patch doesnt come out of my camelbak), a pocket for a water bottle would be nice too and also has support for your back (I try to avoid frameless if possible).