RSS FeedRSS Feeds for Gear Heads

Premier Sponsor:

BlochWave

May 29, 2013, 5:20 AM
Post #1 of 8 (7195 views)
Shortcut

Harness waist too loose?
Report this Post
Average: avg_1 avg_2 avg_3 avg_4 avg_5 (0 ratings)  
Can't Post

I'm new to climbing, and decided it was time to buy my own gear. I went to REI and talked with someone who seemed knowledgeable enough and had me try on a couple of harnesses (though they were all mediums). I was happy enough with the medium Black Diamond Momentum and he indicated it fit pretty good. This particular REI doesn't have ropes to hang in. I was wearing similar fitting clothes to the picture. I wish I had been a little more proactive, but at the time I guess I was content enough to think "oh, he says it fits, good."

Anyways, I got home and, in what's pretty traditional fashion for me, gotten a little paranoid about my purchase. I feel like I need to crank it as tight as it can go to get it reasonably snug, but it really doesn't get it as snug as I was expecting. For what its worth, the specs say a minimum of 30 inch waist, if I break out the tape measure I'm a few mm shy of 31...which I guess explains why all my pants don't fit any more.

It still looks looser than I really expect it to. Exhibit A and B!

There's no way the waist is coming down over my hips, which is good, and this is about how much room there is (no comment on my leopard print bath mat!):

There's pressure on the hand. The hilarious IKEA-style instructions indicate that two fingers is the max. Two fingers is fairly tight, but I could get three in there if I really wanted to.